Posted by: Dana Nassau | January 26, 2012

The best defense

All week I have been acting like an extreme germaphobe. I say acting like because it really isn’t me. Before Nes I have never had anyone use hand sanitizer before touching my child and I have generally been opposed to use of hand sanitizer and anti-bacterial soap for regular use (of course there are exceptions). But I’ve never had a newborn with one lung during flu season before and for her respiratory infection hovers as a potential cause for hospitalization. Currently I have two snot-nosed kids who couldn’t not share their germs if their lives depended on it. Seriously. It’s really an exercise in futility. I have been strictly enforcing a “drink from your own cup/water bottle” policy, hand washing, “cover your mouth when you cough (with your elbow)”, “don’t touch your sister’s paci”, “don’t touch your sister’s face”, etc. But there have been multiple offenses and I know, despite my efforts, that our house is a petri dish of germs and bacteria. So, I feel compelled to pray. God, protect my daughter. Keep her in health as you are the only realistic defense she has.


Leave a comment

Categories