Posted by: Dana Nassau | August 14, 2010

Antsy

Probably the most unsettling situation in life is hovering around your due date.  I think most moms hope to be early, but are safe to set their mind on a post-date birth.  It seems like the two weeks before the due date moms stop living and start ticking.  Ticking like a time bomb waiting for their baby to come.  As a newish doula I think it’s easy to feel this way, too.  I’m sure I’ll get used to it and just remember to keep living and realize that life will work its way out – even if I have to cancel something fun here and there.  I spent most of last night in the hospital with a mom whose water had broken, but had not started active labor.  Pitocin, epidural, and a day later I am at home waiting for her to call to say she needs me again.  It’s a strange place to be.  Hoping and praying for this mama, that she can have the VBAC she so desires, even if it wasn’t exactly how she had hoped it would be.


Leave a comment

Categories